Daily Archives: March 22, 2008

surprisingly good cookies.

I do love cookie, but I rarely make them since eating milk chocolate chips on their own is just about as awesome for me. But a long, long time ago, Jess made some seriously excellent cookies that didn’t even really have chocolate chips in them. I have been thinking of them a lot lately, so I decided to try them out. This recipe is not as good as hers, but it’s still awesome and she is terribly busy and I think I will just have to wait a month and a bit to work out her cookies. Anyway, they are surprisingly good since they feature white chocolate, cranberries, and macadamia nuts, all of which are good, but none of which are amazing the way they are in these cookies.

I think the recipe is from Epicurious. It is easy but it makes about forty pretty hefty cookies, so maybe half the recipe unless you want to pawn these off on anyone you know. The cookie dough is maybe the best I’ve tried, it holds together, isn’t super greasy, and is chewy. This is mostly what I’m looking for in a cookie.

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 1/2 cup white chocolate chunks
  • 1 cup roasted macadamia nuts, roughly chopped

Cream together the butter and sugars. Mix together the flour, baking soda and salt and add them to the butter. Add in the eggs and vanilla. Add the cranberries, chocolate and nuts. This is a lot of stuff, maybe so much that I would add less, which is strange, because usually I add more extras rather than less. Bake at 350 for about 15 minutes.