ricotta

Lindsay made ricotta last summer and brought it to Ashley’s cottage, and I’ve been meaning to do it ever since.  In my mind, it was hard and sciency, but it was actually neither of these things.  Basically, all you need is a cheesecloth, and I love making things with cheesecloths. Super easy, but then felt compelled to eat it all on top of a pizza. Next time, I guess I’ll try to not eat it in one night…

SL740606

I used the recipe from the very pretty Salt & Fat, and I probably should have followed it more carefully. I was nervous that the sciency part wasn’t happening, so I kept adding more and more lemon. Maybe, don’t do this.

  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-2 tablespoons lemon juice (seriously)

Prep the cheesecloth by putting it in a bowl or colander, so it’s ready when you need it.  Bring the milk, cream and salt to a running boil on medium high, making sure to stir it pretty often so nothing burns.  Once it’s boiling, add the lemon juice, stir it in carefully, and turn the heat down to maintain a simmer.  Keep stirring for a few minutes, watching for everything to separate, and don’t be alarmed if it looks like it’s not going to yield much of anything.  Just wait, ideally without adding more lemon juice…  Let it drain for about an hour, I like to tie it up over a bowl so things happen quickly.  I hope to try again this with some flavouring, but I’m not totally sure what would work…

Leave a Reply

