lentils

I think it basically goes without saying that my new year’s resolution was not to blog.  Sorry.  Let’s not talk about it.  But, I’m here now, and people are coming over for dinner seven minutes ago, so hopefully this works!

Leslie fully inspired me with her awesome blog, and her love of enameled cast iron.  When I saw her lentil and sausage recipe, which has been popping up all over the internet in various forms because it is hearty and sort-of healthy and wintery, I knew it would be dinner.

Plus, there’s a new butcher in my neighbourhood, and they are awesome! I went in to buy sausages as the butcher was making them, and he just snipped them off the end, which I find terribly romantic even though the key part of this story is ground pork.

SL740544

Basically, this is a super easy recipe that takes about one inactive hour to make. And, seriously, don’t lentils and kale make you feel virtuous?

  • 1 cup green lentils
  • 1 onion
  • 1 can whole tomatoes
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • some bay leaves
  • dried chilies, to taste
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • water
  • 3 sausages (from Sanagan’s! They get my full endorsement!)
  • oil
  • 1 head of kale

Preheat the oven to 375.  Fry the sausages in a bit of oil, if they need it.  This is where having a stovetop to stove cooking vehicle will come in handy.  While they’re frying, chop the onions, open the tomatoes, and halve the garlic.  Once the sausages are charred, set them aside.  Next time, I’ll fry them longer, I like a bit more char rather than a bit less…  Fry the onions, then add the garlic and then tomatoes and spices.  Bring this to a boil, then add the lentils and about two cups of water.  Stir everything, throw the sausages on top, put the top on, and cook in the oven for about 45 minutes, until the lentils are totally cooked.  You may want to check on them part way through and add more water if you think they need it.  When you take the pot out, set the sausages aside and put the pot back on the element at medium heat.  Add in the head of (chopped) kale, and cover for about 5 minutes.  Slice the sausages, stir up the kale into the lentils and sauce, and serve with the sausage on top.

This is pretty delish and very easy!  It isn’t the prettiest meal ever, I will concede this, but totally worth it since it makes me feel so good to eat lentils and kale.

3 responses to “lentils

  1. Thanks for the props Beth! I just got a new Creuset baby. I’ll post soon! xo, L

  2. Looks pretty to me!

  3. I’m actually eating this RIGHT NOW! I would recommend adding a pinch of salt, and maybe reducing the cinnamon to a half stick. Also, this is a dish that benefits from a little flavour-mingling, post cooking. I’m on my second bowl, and it’s substantially better than the first. Tomorrow’s leftovers will likely make my brain explode. If it does, Beth, you have to come over and clean it up…

Leave a Reply

