Daily Archives: April 14, 2009

Saturday brunch

I work on Sundays, so my brunching has really been curtailed (wah wahh! My life is haaard!). Luckily, I have wonderful friends who can pull together the best brunches ever. I’m not a huge fan of going to restaurants with large parties (though of course there are some notable exceptions – hello, family-style!), and staying in means you can really linger over food. Which is exactly what we did last Saturday.

SL742446_1

We had an amazing fruit spread with strained yogurt, two very amazing sweet treats, and a lot of meat. A lot of meat. Really, this brunch was inspired by the deservedly-popular newish meat and drinks restaurant in the city. I would like to keep up my not-waiting-for-a-table streak, but I’m pretty sure this place is only going to get more popular this summer. Anyway, I tried to recreate the Hot Date, a lavender, date, and gin drink. This is hard because I didn’t have any date syrup. But, an amazing, brunch-appropriate concoction worked itself out anyway!

SL742444_1

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons lavender
  • berry juice (I used Black Currant Cassis)
  • soda water
  • gin (use a shot glass to measure it, it’s brunch!)

Boil the water, sugar and lavender until the sugar has dissolved. Let the syrup cool, then mix a shot of gin with a splash of juice, a tablespoon or so of the syrup, and a bit of soda water. Refreshing!

We had tonnes of delicious food, baked french toast and upside-down plum cake, and it really goes without saying that we had two types of bacon. I definitely regret not taking a picture of Paige’s meat treat, which I can really only call “foot cheese” though I’m sure it has a real name.

SL742445_1SL742443_1

The food is all pretty, but I am kind of wishing I took some pictures of my even-prettier friends. Oops!