dulce de leche macaroons

Okay. I think it’s important to state it explicitly when a recipe takes an entire night to make. This recipe takes forever. Don’t worry, there are apparently ways to make these cookies much, much quicker.

I tasted a version of these cookies at Wanda’s, and they were shockingly good. Caramel and coconut? Sold! After some internetting, it seemed like they might be made of only three ingredients. The downfall is that one of the ingredients was dulce de leche, which is made, I guess, from basically caramelizing sweetened condensed milk (whoa!) in a double boiler. IMPORTANT: this takes about four hours! Four hours of stirring is too long a time commitment for a batch of cookies with only three ingredients. The good news, I guess, is that you can buy sweetened condensed milk, but not really in my neighbourhood, I guess. If you make these, which I do recommend, I strongly recommend buying dulce de leche instead of spending four hours stirring sweetened condensed milk over a double boiler. (Don’t worry, I was reading.)

SL742424

  • 14 ounces of dulce de leche
  • 3 cups of sweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla

All you have to do is mix these things together and spoon them out and bake them for 15 minutes at 350.

Anyway, taking out the long dulce de leche process, these are very easy, and very very sweet cookies. I have a serious sweet tooth, but one of these is actually too much.

2 responses to “dulce de leche macaroons

  1. Hello!

    I love Wanda’s chocolate chip macaroons and I absolutely adore dulce de leche (on apples, on toast, on a spoon.)

    These are like dulce de leche macaroons. I think I shall try them.

    Have you ever had Alfajores? (http://topsintoronto.blogspot.com/2008/12/ode-to-alfajor.html)

    Take care!

    M

  2. Hi,
    I stop at Wanda’s as often as I can (which is probably more often than I should). I love those dulce de leche macaroons. Wanda is apparently working on her next recipe book which should include this recipe. I believe she also has another ingredient – pecans (ground), which actually helps cut down on the sweetness of this cookie.
    Take care,
    R.

Leave a Reply

