breakfast for dinner

For someone who loves brunch, I am pretty bad at breakfast. The main reason is that I don’t really like eggs, in egg form. My all-time favourite breakfast is oats, raspberries and yogurt, and my favourite out-for-breakfast breakfast is a Lebanese pizza from Saving Grace, because anytime I can have hummus, avocado and pomegranate together is amazing, even if it is breakfast time.

Anyway, given my aversion to eggs, it was pretty strange that I was so committed to making these Moroccan-style eggs and tomatoes that I saw in the Casa Moro cookbook. For whatever reason – I think it was the process, actually – I was totally drawn to these eggs.

SL742406

Anyway, very easy and delicious, but adapted because it’s winter and my fridge isn’t as stocked as it should be.

  • 1 can of whole tomatoes (I can’t wait for summer – I am ready for real tomatoes!)
  • 1 onion
  • 6 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • oil
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • pinch of cayenne powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 eggs
  • a bunch of chopped flat parsley

Fry the diced onion with the sliced garlic and cumin in oil until the onions are translucent.  Add the tomatoes, the cayenne, and the salt and pepper.  Simmer the tomatoes so that the tomato juice boils down, so about 15 minutes, and break up the tomatoes a bit.  Crack the eggs on top of the tomato mixture, and spread the whites around a bit with a fork.  Leave them for a bit, and put a top on the pan if you feel like it.  This takes awhile and to be honest I don’t know just how long, as I got very impatient and kind of scrambled the eggs.  In the interest of a pretty dish, don’t do this!  This is why I have an in-the-pan, not-yet-finished picture!  I can’t say for sure, but logic tells me the eggs will cook if you leave them.  Anyway, I dipped corn bread in this and it was delicious!

3 responses to “breakfast for dinner

  1. I love love LOVE all the appearances that the le creuset pan is making on this site!

  2. i think the finished product looked delicious as well!!
    and i second ashley.. le creuset is the culinary star of 2009.

  3. Mmm…this is a great idea!

Leave a Reply

