balsamic nuts

I stole this nut recipe from this website, but it was really vague, understandably, so I was nervous the whole time I was making them.  Mostly, I’ve never candied nuts before, and I wasn’t really sure what I was doing. In the end, they didn’t turn out quite right, but I think I can play around with the recipe a bit and figure it out.

SL742399

The saucier was really helpful, it’s heavy enough that the syrup didn’t burn and was surprisingly easy to clean up after. Anyway, fairly straightforward, and pretty impressive. I put these in a salad with pear and blue cheese, but they were also good on their own.

  • 2 cups red wine
  • 1 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 2 star anise
  • 1 teaspoon black peppercorn
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 teaspoons clove
  • 2 dried chilis
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 cups toasted walnuts

Bring the balsamic vinegar and wine to a boil, and throw in all the spices, but not the cocoa, into the liquids in a spice ball. Reduce all this until it becomes syrupy. This takes awhile, and I was stressed out so I just kept stirring it. Once it’s making thick bubbles and looking syrupy, lower the heat and thicken the mixture with the cocoa. You may need to add more cocoa, just thicken it up. This got tricky because it’s way too hot to taste, which is how I generally know that I’m not making a disastrous mistake. Once it’s kind of ready-ish, throw in the walnuts and coat them, for awhile. Then, spread them all out on a baking tray and let them cool and harden.

I have every intention of making these a lot. So good!

2 responses to “balsamic nuts

  1. I made them less chocolately and served them with red wine-poached apple chunks, dabs of St. Andre, and half moon slices of baguette. Delish. But I had the same problem with a too-hot goo that I wished I could have tasted. Next time I think I’ll add lemon or orange juice to give these bad boys some tang.

  2. omfg. you have to make these for next gossip girl, whenever that is.

Leave a Reply

