surprising flavours

So, as much as I want to be Corey Mintz, or at least be friends with him (call me!) I know that this is destined to not happen. The main reason is that I do not have what might be called a “refined palette.” I do not notice more than one flavour, and usually I describe this lone flavour as “good.” Clearly my goals of being a food critic are a bit lofty. Unreasonable, even. But, finally, a dish that I can actually call “complex” and “layered,” not to mention “good.”

Full credit needs to go to Ashley. She has a serious talent of picking recipes that I think sound too insane that turn out to be amazing. This carrot and pear bisque is a prime example. First of all, I always assumed that a bisque referred only to seafood based soups but Wikipedia tells me that a bisque can also be vegetable based. I still maintain that this is not a bisque, since it isn’t creamy, but I clearly don’t know much about bisque so I’ll leave it at that. This soup is delicious, and that’s what matters.
SL742405

  • 2 leeks
  • 6 large carrots, peeled
  • 1 pear, peeled
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon red curry paste
  • 2 litres of soup stock
  • salt and pepper

Thinly slice the leeks, wash them carefully, and sauté them in the butter. Cut up the pear and carrots into small pieces, and add them to the softened leeks along with the curry paste. Use some of the broth to deglaze the pot, and then add in all the broth, and bring it to a boil. Season with salt and pepper. Turn down the heat and let everything simmer for about half an hour. Purée everything with a hand-held blender. Seriously delicious!

4 responses to “surprising flavours

  1. lol my “good” is “delicious”….capturing the flavor of food in words is a tricky endeavor. As for the bisque? That looks fantastic!

  2. i just made something similar to this, but with apples. it’s so good, it’s about to bring me over to the curry-loving side of things. 🙂

  3. You wouldn’t enjoy being my friend. Few of mine seem to. But thanks for the shout-out.

  4. If you are a stuffy classically trained chef the term bisque refers to not only a seafood cream soup, but actually to a perfectly smooth crustacean soup. I think we use bisque now to refer to a rich (not necessarily with cream)smooth over the top with flavour soup. There were times when my cream of apple and onion soup was bisquey (yup, I think I made that one up). I’d say the one above definitely qualifies on all counts. Keep it up kiddo.

Leave a Reply

