mac and cheese

I guess it’s kind of strange that I grew up totally without macaroni and cheese. This includes Kraft Dinner which I have honestly never ever tried and the first time I ever made it was when I was babysitting at age 15. Anyway, I haven’t really ever gotten into mac and cheese, but awhile ago (eep yes I am behind on the blogging thing!) I was seriously craving something hot and cheesey and totally substantial. Mac and cheese seemed obvious.

SL742386

You might be thinking that this is typical bland white food, but you would only be partially right. If you look carefully, you will see that the meal is actually kind of pink. (Hint: it’s saffron).

  • milk
  • 2 cups old cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 cup gouda, grated
  • flour
  • butter
  • saffron
  • parmesan cheese
  • pasta, ideally of the short and stubby variety

Cook the pasta, not too much, and set it aside.  Heat up a few tablespoons of butter, then add the milk, maybe a cup or two, and let it heat up.  Add maybe a tablespoon of saffron, and watch the milk turn bright red.  This part made me feel like a scientist.  Take out the saffron strands once you freak out about how red the milk has turned.  When the milk and butter are bubbling, add in some flour to thicken it.  Stir in the gouda and cheddar until they melt, then toss it all over the pasta, and spread it into a baking dish.  Bake this for longer than you would think, until the cheese sauce has really thickened.  Sprinkle the parmesan on top and bake until it gets crispy on top.

I understand that this is probably an intuitive recipe for everyone else, as they grew up with mac and cheese and don’t think it is even a little novel.  But!  It is novel to me and it’s my food blog!

One response to “mac and cheese

  1. I do not like macaroni and cheese. Congratulations on overcoming my unwitting passing along of a culinary quirk.

Leave a Reply

