coffee cake

I am so so in love with my new kitchen investment. I just bought a Le Creuset saucier in Dijon from the Good Egg, a store that totally deserves it’s own post, as it is my favourite food inspiration. Anyway, I cannot say enough amazing things about this pan. It cooks so evenly, meats, treats, everything that comes out of this pan is awesome. Also, it is adorable and it brightens up the kitchen so nicely. And! it feels like a serious investment, so it’s inspiring me to cook lots of fun things.

Anyway, this cake is my new favourite thing. It’s pretty much made from (my) pantry staples, and it doesn’t take too long, so it’s not hard to make it and then feel like I’ve finally accomplished something.

SL742379

  • 2 shots of espresso
  • water
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla

Grease the inside of the super cute pan (really, you can use anything you like to bake in. I’m new to baking in cast iron and totally converted!) and then coat the pan in flour. Blend the sugar and butter together, and beat in the eggs. Fold in the dry ingredients, and then add the vanilla. Measure the espresso and add water so it fills up to 2/3 of a cup, and mix in.

Bake at 350 for 35 minutes, then let it sit for 10 and turn the cake out.

I love this as a treat and as breakfast (which I pretend is not a treat).

2 responses to “coffee cake

  1. This was really delish! And it looks so pretty in that pan…..

  2. lovely pan, lovely cake–i appreciate any excuse to eat cake for breakfast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

