mango lassie

I love a mango lassie, which is basically a mango milkshake but it sounds more virtuous. And, amazingly, it is more virtuous, if virtue comes to you through healthier eating. I say “healthier” because this is totally a treat and it’s pretty much entirely made of prepackaged food.

But it’s a fun, quick, delicious dessert, or I guess it could be a drink but it’s a little too heavy for me to be able to drink it with a meal.

SL742017

Francesca showed me how to make these, so simple and really nice. All you need is a blender (I used an immersion blender, my go-to for most blending needs).

  • 1/2 a 750ml container of plain yogourt. Fat content is not an issue, I usually go with non-fat.
  • 1 can of sliced mangoes, with the juice. This is actually one of the times where canned fruit makes things better. This is rare.
  • 10 cardamom pods, crushed

Blend the yogourt and the mangoes, but not the mango juice. Add the juice slowly until it reaches a consistency that you’re happy with. Add in the cardamom and blend some more.  You don’t have to add sugar if you used canned mangoes, they are already sweetened to the extreme!

Easy! Not so impressive, but still.

One response to “mango lassie

  1. Best consumed with Indian food. Before love-making. Awwww yeah. (I’m serious…try it).

Leave a Reply

