curry and cornbread

Since it’s winter, all I want to do is eat stew. But, I kind of feel like I’ve over done meats these days, so I was looking for a new veggie stew with a bit of kick. I found this one, which I like, but I wish I’d thought to use coconut milk instead of water… Next time!

SL742199

This made a lot of stew, which is also pretty good since I’ve been working a lot lately, and also because it’s pretty delicious.

  • oil
  • 5 cloves of minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons of grated ginger
  • 2 onions, diced
  • 2 tablespoons red curry paste
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups of dried green lentils
  • 2 sweet potatoes (large!), diced
  • 1 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1 bunch of red chard
  • juice from 1 lime

Fry up the onions, garlic, ginger in the oil and curry powder, until the onions are translucent. Add in the canned tomatoes, the lentils, the sweet potatoes, the lime juice and the water, and let everything boil then simmer for about 30 minutes. Add in the red chard, and stir, and simmer for about 5 more minutes.

I ate this with cornbread, which seems a bit incongruous, but actually worked well.

One response to “curry and cornbread

  1. oh beth, i just tried making my own green lentil curry stew last week! it was delicious, (possibly too mushy) but yours sounds better! can i add more veggies, like peppers, red, yellow?

Leave a Reply

