more white food…

Whoops! I can’t help it. It’s winter! I want to curl up and do nothing and eat potato-based soups. So here is another white white meal, but I don’t even feel bad, because it’s tasty and hearty and even if you life in cold cold Canada where nothing is growing, these things are growing so you can eat this soup and not feel the wrath of locavores.

SL742192

  • 3 parsnips, peeled and finely chopped
  • 4 leeks, washed over and over and finely sliced
  • 5 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, peeled and chopped
  • chicken soup stock
  • olive oil
  • spices you like

Fry the parsnips, leeks, garlic, and zucchini in the olive oil. Fry the parsnips for the longest, then the leeks, then the garlic, then the zucchini. Put in any spices you feel like. I can’t really remember what I went with… Add the soup stock, and let the soup simmer for as long as you can. Purée the soup. The parsnips are kind of exciting as a purée, mostly, I think, because most of the amazing Hibiscus soups are made with parsnip.

Anyway, someday, winter will be over, and I’ll start eating colourful food again.  Until then, I might try to make a stew.  Brown instead of white…

One response to “more white food…

  1. Sounds good to me and I’ve had soup on the brain as well (potato soup)…granted, a part of it is me just wanting to play with a stick blender, but still…this one sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

