pulled lamb sandwiches

One of my favourite favourite meals is the cumin spiced lamb wrap from Pan Chancho in Kingston. Pan Chancho’s website is down, but it’s a cute and delish bakery. Today I tried to recreate the cumin spiced lamb, and it wasn’t as perfect, but pretty good. Also, thanks to the slow cooker, also easy. I think it really needs fluffy white bread, and luckily Ashley picked up some Naan that went perfectly.
SL742197

  • lamb shoulder, with the bone, about 7 lbs.
  • 1 can of whole tomatoes
  • 1 carrot, finely diced
  • 2 celery stocks, finely diced
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 2 tablespoons cumin seed
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon (ideally, a stick of cinnamon, but we were out…)
  • 1 cup chicken soup stock
  • olive oil

Brown the lamb in the olive oil in a frying pan. Dice the veggies, and add them, along with the cumin and the liquids, into the slow cooker. Break up the tomatoes and let it stew for as long as you can. I think it slow cooked on low for maybe four hours and then on high for two. Longer would probably be better. Then, take the meat out, take off the fat, and pull of the meat, but keep the slow cooker on, letting the liquids reduce. Put the pulled lamb back in the slow cooker to simmer in the tomatoey-cuminy liquid. I topped this with tzatziki, but lots of things would work.

And! then I boiled the bones, and I’m trying to make lamb stock. What should I do with it? (Serious question!)

5 responses to “pulled lamb sandwiches

  1. This sounds spectacular and like something I need to try. I love pulled pork–why have I never thought of pulled lamb?

    As for what to do with the stock, I’m not certain…perhaps as a base for a soup including things like fennel, mint, etc *shrugs*

  2. i’ve had pulled chicken, pulled pork, and pulled beef, but never lamb. how interesting, and may i say that the pita looks STUPENDOUS. 🙂

  3. Next time try it with garlic and coriander seeds (not leaves), they go well with the cumin and cinnamon.

  4. oh. here’s an idea for lamb stock. It’s actually the ONLY idea for lamb stock. Get some barley, chop up some vegetables and make scotch broth. (Also get a recipe, it probably is a bit more involved than what I just said.)

  5. obviously your mother and I come from the same gene pool. Cause I was going to say make Scotch Broth. I remember many many lunches of Campbell’s Scotch Broth and John and I asking for “lots of Scotch” because obviously the broth is the liquid, so the rest must be the
    Scotch. I’d use turnip and parsnip and onion and celery and barley – but depends on your stock too.
    B

Leave a Reply

