new year’s resolution

Okay, so obviously I have not been blogging lately, but it’s totally time to start new things, and blogging is one of my new year’s resolutions. Others include do work and wear blush. I think I can make all of these happen.

Here’s an old favourite to get me eased in. This is a pretty great fish dish, super tasty and easy to make for lots of people because it comes together quickly and is generally awesome, so everyone likes it. Now, the original recipe calls for tilapia, but tilapia is a bad fish now in terms of sustainability, so maybe try another white fish, ideally one endorsed by David Suzuki and Jill Lambert. 2009 is going to be the year of responsible eating, I hope. Given that I’ve found an awesome and romantic butcher, I think I can make this happen too.
1479237467_a036cabfbf_b

  • 1 cup shelled pistachios
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 4 white fish fillets, as per David Suzuki’s recommendations
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons honey mustard
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Gorgonzola or blue cheese
  • Mix up the pistachios, dried oregano, dried thyme and garlic powder in a food processor. Season both sides of the fillets with the salt and pepper, and brush honey mustard onto both sides of the fish. This is where I really appreciate those silicone brushes – ones with bristles get oily and stay oily, but the silicone ones clean perfectly. Press the fish into the pistachio mixtures on both sides, and fry the fish in the oil for 2-3 minutes per side. Top with the cheese. Seriously good.

    4 responses to “new year’s resolution

    1. Pingback: new year’s resolution « descent into dessert | cakesny.com

    2. yes! you’re back!

    3. wear blush, eh? yes, that’s certainly an attainable goal, and a good one at that. 🙂
      great dish, and happy 2009!

    4. Welcome back, kotter

      As for that fish, I love it! Not sure why, but cheese and fish never really comes together in my mind, but seeing it here has very much rooted the thought in my head now. I need this fish tonight.

    Leave a Reply

    