rosemary lemonade

Oh, it’s good to be back! September is totally the new August for me, as I lost my last official summer month somewhere between an archive and a Subway franchise. Yes, it was a month of six-inch Veggie Delights. But! Not anymore! I actually made this lemonade weeks ago, before heading to Alberta, and it’s part of my new “do not waste fresh herbs” goal.

DSCF7688

Stuck with two days and a bunch of rosemary for the zucchini soup, I opted to try out a fresh lemonade. Bonus: I made more than I could drink in four days, and it’s still good, weeks later (I hope!).

Anyway, super easy, very pretty, also delicious.

  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 5 or 6 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 6 lemons
  • ice

Boil the water and the sugar together to make simple syrup, which basically just means dissolving the sugar entirely. While the mixture is heating up, add the rosemary, pulled from the sprig. Once it’s boiled, take the rosemary out – it should smell very strongly of rosemary. Juice the lemons while the heated mixture cools, then add the juice and the simple syrup and ice.
DSCF7693

One response to “rosemary lemonade

  1. I can’t tell you how yummy that sounds!

Leave a Reply

