rosemary zucchini soup

I have definitely not been cooking lately, and it’s driving me crazy. I just spent a week in Ottawa, and I had a bagel every day for lunch. Hard life! Tomorrow I spend two weeks in Alberta, which will probably also be not so delicious. But, when I get back, I am cooking and trying not to leave for at least a month. Also, this is different from my earlier whine about going to too many cottages since I’m actually doing work pretty much all month. And, yes, I get that generally other people have jobs and work etc. but I don’t love leaving home for so long because I’m a wimp.

Anyway, I came home this weekend and had an awesome time, picnicking, antiquing, and I made a delicious soup. Anyway, this soup is amazing and employed my favourite new technique featuring a teaball.

DSCF7689

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion (big, ish)
  • 2 zucchinis (I used really big ones, maybe use two if they’re regular size.  I’m not sure why all my produce is enormous…  gmos!)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon corriander seeds
  • 4 allspice berries
  • 2 sprigs rosemary
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • coarse salt
  • black pepper

Fry the onion for about five minutes in the olive oil, just until they’re kind of softened.  The add 1/4 cup of water and salt and pepper.  I am pretty into coarse salt these days.  Let the onions cook for another 10 minutes, then add the diced zucchini and some more salt.  Reduce the heat, cover it, and cook it for about 15 minutes, until the zucchini softens.

At this point, put the bay leaf, the peppercorns, the coriander seeds, the allspice berries in a big teaball.  Add the rosemary, the teaball, the chicken stock and a cup of water in with the zucchini and let it simmer, uncovered, for about 15 minutes.  Take the rosemary out, and purée the soup lightly with a handblender.  I like not superpuréed, but I guess the texture is your own call.  I am pretty into rosemary, and this soup is heavy on rosemary.

2 responses to “rosemary zucchini soup

  1. what a perfect summer soup! it looks creamy and delicious, and what a great use for the plethora of zucchini that seems to occur every summer. 🙂

  2. I’ve never had a zucchini soup before–this sounds like a delicious flavor combo and very refreshing

Leave a Reply

