raspberry scones

I love love love scones but everytime I make them I feel guilty about the many cups of serious cream. Generally, I am not concerned about such things, but the cream really gets to me and I don’t know why. It doesn’t hold for everything, because I definitely had some delicious profiteroles for dessert and didn’t think a thing of the 2 cups of cream involved.  I think I just want to pretend that scones are healthy, which is silly.

Yesterday I went to a clothing swap/tea event. I really hate clothing swaps. They always feature people I don’t know, and me showcasing all the clothes I don’t wear anymore. Embarrassing! But, yesterday’s was lots of fun, and I left with fewer clothes than I came in with, and two more samurai shorts than I came in with. Awesome!

Anyway, I thought I’d bring some scones for the teatime part of the day, and again I tried to go with a variation on this recipe. They worked out well – very very puffy, I would really squash them down, next time…

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 cup non-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 4 tablespoons white sugar
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter (breaking the rules!)
  • 2 tablespoons baking powder
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • frozen raspberries

Almost everyone is very picky about how you make scones, and I am not.  But, I am almost always reasonably happy with my scones, though I do say that they were too puffy or too dense etc etc.  But! This is easy, and I was in a rush!  So, I just threw everything in a bowl (except the raspberries) and mixed it with my hands.  Then, I added in frozen raspberries as I made the scone shape (circles…).  I would say that the pros of simplicity and not-the-most-unhealthy-snack-ever far, far, far outweigh the con of maybe-too-dense which comes with such ease and such a lack of cream.  Worth it!

As you can see, these are some white scones.  Next time, I am going to try them with whole wheat flour.  If only for colour…   seriously.

One response to “raspberry scones

  1. raspberries make things so pretty.

    also, cream is your friend–it sticks with you like no other. (get it?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

