pretzels

Mostly, I want to eat mustard. I love Kozlik’s mustards, all of them, they’re spicey and smokey and awesome. Ashley and I have just joined a softball team, and it’s fun but also stressful (three games in, I still don’t quite understand softball…) and unfortunately timed over the dinner hour. We brought chewy pretzels to last night’s game, and I think our teammates weren’t so into them, but I had three in seven innings. Whoa.

They’re mostly a vehicle for mustard, but still pretty good…

  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons yeast
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Mix together the yeast, sugar, salt and water and let it sit for 10 minutes so the yeast activates.  Mix in the flour.  Roll the dough out and form into shapes (we opted for the traditional pretzel shape, but anything goes, as long as it can cook evenly).  Once the pretzels are formed, let them rise, covered, in a warmish place for half an hour.  I kind of thought they would rise, or expand, or something, but they don’t.  Or, I used the wrong yeast.  It worked out alright – they tasted fine.  Brush the pretzels with and egg and add some coarse salt.  Bake at 400 for 10 to 15 minutes.

3 responses to “pretzels

  1. a big soft pretzel without mustard is useless to me. it’s like apple pie without cinnamon–edible, but noticeably lacking.

    meanwhile, i love playing softball! i hope you’re having fun with it!

  2. Looks delicious to me! Growing up, one of my favorite parts about making a day trip to NYC was pretzels. No matter where we went or what we were doing, I needed an NYC pretzel. I was young and foolish though: I didn’t like it with mustard. Now I know better. 😉

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Appleton

Leave a Reply

