rice and beans

Rice and beans are maybe my number one comfort food.  I’m not sure why, but they are delicious and I almost always want them.  I’ve never made them before, though, probably because I figured anything that amazing must have some crazy secret ingredient or technique that I would inevitably fumble.  Anyway, false!  Tonight I made rice and beans, following Ashley, who eats a lot of Caribbean food from Ackee Tree and decided to try to make their rice.  I really like how this came out, it’s a little spicy, a little tangy, and has a good rice: bean ratio.

  • 1 cup rice
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • tomato juice
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • olive oil

Basically I cooked the rice in two cups of water with the chili powder stirred in.  While that was happening, I fried the garlic and onion in a bit of oil.  I then added the cooked rice, along with the drained beans, some tomato juice and the vinegar.  This was totally easy and quick and good.  It looks kind of sad on its own, but it was actually a great dinner.

2 responses to “rice and beans

  1. “it looks kind of sad on its own…”

    i beg to differ! i think it looks delicious, especially with the avocado garnish. this is my type of comfort food too, although my bean: rice ratio is a good bit heavier on the beans. 🙂

  2. Not the least bit sad! Rice and beans are always a surprisingly wonderful thing and I think this looks excellent!

Leave a Reply

