dal

So my mom posted a comment about how my treats are unhealthy (whatever!), but I wanted to show her that I do, actually, eat alright, I think.  And, really, she can’t argue with her own recipe.  I’ve been eating a lot of dal lately, it’s a nice lentil soupy dish with great kick.  I have to admit that it’s not as good as my mom’s, but maybe someday.  My mom is a natural cook, rarely measuring, so I guess work with that if you can…

  • red or yellow lentils (not green!)
  • onion
  • garlic
  • potato
  • carrot
  • cumin
  • turmeric
  • fresh chili
  • mustard seeds
  • water
  • oil

Boil the lentils in water (1 cup lentils to 3 cups water), stirring regularly.  Chop the vegetables.  Fry the onions, garlic, and vegetables in a bit of oil.  Add the cumin, turmeric, fresh chopped chili, and mustard seeds.  Add some of the lentils (not all of them) into the frying pan, and mix.  Put the contents of the frying pan into the lentil pot.  Let sit but continue to stir, adding water if it gets too thick.

This is a really versatile recipe, I think the key is to taste as you go.  Most recently, I subbed in a yellow bell pepper for the potatoes, and it worked really well.

3 responses to “dal

  1. that looks like pure comfort in a bowl.

    but hey–what do you have against green lentils?? 🙂

  2. Not healthy? Nonsense–dessert is the most important meal of the day. Breakfast just happens to follow it the next day and it takes all the credit…

    The dal looks really tasty and hearty. I also like the idea of using yellow peppers–sounds like a great compliment to the dish.

  3. I use a similar recipe (I live daals too:) Recently, though, I noticed that it tastes very good if I pass it through the mixer. Not much, just a second or two, to homogenise it a bit. It becomes almost like a paste and somehow it’s easier to digest. Some people have colon problems and lentils and beans are harder to digest for them. This way it works for my whole family.

Leave a Reply

