coconut curry

I have to admit that I occasionally fall into needing really fast dinner fixes. Though I’m alright with using cake mixes, I have a pretty serious aversion to microwave dinners or almost anything that makes a meal from a box or a plastic dish. But! My confession is that I absolutely love Patak’s. These jars of spice pastes make any meal amazing with basically no effort. Plus, with only the slightest bit of effort, they are maybe the best thing ever. Seriously.

This weekend, Alice, Hannah and I made coconut curry with chick peas and sweet potatoes. This is a very easy curry that I’ve been making since second year, when I really didn’t know how to cook, so I used to just make it with onions, chick peas, and curry paste. There are only a few more ingredients now, but it is a much, much better dish.

  •  1 can chick peas
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 medium sweet potato  (note that in Kensington Market, a “medium” sweet potato is very, very big)
  • olive oil
  • Patak’s  Madras Curry Paste
  • fresh basil

Cut the onions into small pieces, and cube the sweet potato.  Fry the onions in a bit of olive oil while you boil the diced sweet potatoes.  When the onions are clear, add in the drained can of chick peas and the coconut milk.  Add two tablespoons of the curry paste, and stir.  When the sweet potatoes are cooked, add them to the curry, along with the basil, which I honestly don’t even cut, and let it simmer until the coconut milk has reduced.  This is a hearty and pretty good meal.  I usually eat it on rice or in a wrap, and it makes an awesome next-day lunch.

One response to “coconut curry

  1. Also good – adding spinach towards the end.

Leave a Reply

