pilaf treat

I am eating a really delicious pilaf right now. Wikipedia tells me that a pilaf is just a grain (quinoa) fried, and then cooked in a broth.  Because I used orange juice as the broth,my lunch tastes more like dessert, which is pretty good.

  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • juice of 1 orange
  • 2 cups water
  • handful toasted pecans
  • handful dried cranberries
  • salt

Fry the quinoa in the oil, until it smells kind of toasted.  Add the orange juice, and gradually add the water until the quinoa looks more-or-less germinated, stirring fairly constantly.  This only takes maybe 10 minutes  Add in a bit of salt, and toss in the pecans and cranberries.  I feel insanely healthy right now, mostly because I finally feel like I’m getting enough protein.  Also, this would maybe be a more appropriate breakfast, given how sweet it is.

5 responses to “pilaf treat

  1. i’m newly obsessed with quinoa, and i’ve always loved the cranberry-orange combination. i can’t wait to try this, thanks!!

  2. Looks yummmy .. does it taste like kouskous? (sp?) Must say it looks very similar

  3. I’m not sure if I’ve ever had quinoa, but that looks and sounds tasty to me!

  4. it’s kind of couscous-y, yeah. also, delish and easy and pretty versatile…

  5. Pingback: protein breakfast « descent into dessert

Leave a Reply

