beer stew

Yesterday I tried to make roasted veggies in the slow cooker.  I think a ten-hour cook on vegetables might have been a bit ambitious, though, since it turned into stew.  And, my fears of too-few liquids went totally unrealized…   Though this was not what I expected, it was pretty good and very easy.

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 3 white potatoes
  • 3 yellow peppers
  • 1 vidallia onion
  • 1 red onion
  • 9 cloves of garlic
  • 1 bunch rosemary
  • 1 bunch sage
  • 1 tall boy (I used Lech, because it was in the fridge)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon maple sugar
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • salt

Cut up all the veggies into pretty large chunks, and throw them in the slow cooker.  Take the herbs from the sprigs, but no need to chop them.  Add in the liquids, and bake it slowly.  This is a lot of veggies with only a little bit of liquid, but somehow everything doesn’t burn.  The slow cooker is magical like that, I guess.  I’ve made this before in the oven, which makes it less stew-y, more roasted, but both are good.  Also, all of these measurements are very much guesses, and I’m pretty sure you can sub almost anything for anything…

Leave a comment