garlic biscuits

This week is kind of silly in terms of food – I was gone all last week, and I’m leaving again on Friday. So, I’m pretty much holding off on making too many exciting foods, since they’ll just end up sitting in my fridge while I’m away. This is hard because Ashley is coming over for dinner tonight. I think we’re going to work through some of the chai soup that I froze awhile ago, but I feel like sometimes soup isn’t really enough of a meal, even when it is butternut squash soup. So, I made these garlic biscuits, inspired by this delicious bread with huge chunks of garlic baked in and the fact that I have yogurt. I went with this recipe, but changed it around to be savoury rather than sweet, and I’m pretty excited to try it out again, a little differently.

They are easy and quick and this recipe only made four. This is perfect.

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 9 cloves garlic, cut into good-sized chunks

Mix together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add in the butter, softened, and cream in. (I know this isn’t how you’re supposed to do these things but seriously it always works for me and I don’t have a pastry knife and I hate cutting in butter.) Add the yogurt and milk, and then the garlic. Roll out onto a floured surface, and use a glass to cut circles of dough. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes.

2 responses to “garlic biscuits

  1. 2 1/4 cloves garlic per biscuit… this is my type of biscuit!

  2. Pingback: raspberry scones « descent into dessert

Leave a Reply

