chai squash soup.

It is kind of raining snow here, and I am feeling a bit let down by the weather, so I thought I’d make some soup. This summer, Jen made a fun sounded butternut squash soup that I think she tried to copy from a place in Canmore that may be called “Communitea.” (note: I love puns. And tea.) I didn’t try it, but she liked it and it’s been at the back of my mind for awhile, and today seemed like a good day for a spicy and hearty soup. Since Jen is in Zambia, I decided to just figure out a recipe myself. Basically, any time any liquid was used, I put in strong chai tea, black.

  • 1 large butternut squash (mine was a little over 4 pounds)
  • 5 shallots
  • 3 apples (I used Crispin)
  • 6 cups of black chai tea
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • nutmeg
  • cinnamon

Half the squash length-wise and roast and 350 for an hour and a half, face down.  Peel the shallots and half them, peal the apples and core and quarter them, and put them in a baking tray with a cup of chai and the olive oil.  Bake them (conveniently also at 350) covered in tin foil for an hour, then remove the tin foil and bake them uncovered for half and hour.  I hate this kind of waiting, but I did read a lot while this was cooking.

When the squash is done, let it sit until it’s cool enough to touch, then peel the skin off.  Purée the apples and shallots, and add in about a cup of chai.  Transfer the mixture to a pot, and purée the squash, gradually, while adding chai to break it down.  Pour the squash into the pot and heat, adding the rest of the chai.  Since everything is already hot, this won’t take long.  Add the nutmeg and cinnamon to taste.

I am pretty into this soup, but I might have puréed it too much.  Next time I might use a hand blender.

3 responses to “chai squash soup.

  1. Beth! This soup looks delicious! I will dream of it all afternoon at work, as I stare out at the window at the rainy snow.
    xo

  2. Ashley! It’s pretty delish but I made wayyyy too much. I will bring you some, soon (Saturday?)…

  3. apple was a smart addition. also, when kyle and i made it i burnt my hand many times in an attempt to peel the squash pre-cooling. ouch.

Leave a Reply

