Toblerone cake

Lately, my friends and I are really into the pudding cake. As in, between my roommates and I, and Ashley, we probably make four a week. This is a lot, but they are easy and delicious. Last week, for family day dinner, we decided to up the ante a bit and make the slightly more complicated, but still quicker version, the Toblerone cake, which I think Paige found on Tastespotting. Sadly, I think we may have overcooked it a little, but it was still amazing, and just a bit richer than the pudding cake. We doubled the recipe and made two ramekins of oozy cake.

DSCF6044

The recipe was in grams, which is workable thanks to our surprisingly well-used kitchen scale. And, I think, because chocolate bar quantity is in weight.

  • 1 egg
  • 25 grams of sugar
  • 20 grams of flour
  • 50 grams of butter
  • 50 grams of Toblerone bar
  • 20 grams of bittersweet chocolate

I should mention that this is the kind of ratio I support: the most chocolate, a lot of butter, some sugar, and a little bit of flour. So, you beat the egg and the sugar, then add in the flour and beat it some more. In a double boiler (or, my version called “small pot in a large pot”) melt the two chocolates, and add in the butter when they’re smooth. Fold the chocolate into the other mixture until it too is smooth. Pour the mixture into a well-greased ramekin, and cook for ten minutes at 400. Take the cake out of the ramekin immediately after it comes out of the oven.

This is a good recipe, but I think we’re probably sticking to the pudding cake for less intensely-planned meals, since it is pretty rich.

One response to “Toblerone cake

  1. I am totally impressed with your pudding cake output! That’s amazing. Also, I am a big fan of making things even more chocolate-y.

Leave a Reply

