chai oatmeal

Yesterday I was thumbing through the Joy of Cooking and was reminded of how much I like their Chai. But, I had things to do so instead I just brewed some pre-made tea and moved on. This morning, though, I woke up committed to chai. Not surprisingly, I also woke up hungry. So I made the chai, and then turned it into breakfast. Exciting!

  • 3 cups water
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 16 crushed cardamom pods
  • 1 teaspoon whole cloves
  • 1/2 inch chunk of fresh ginger, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon black peppercorns
  • 2 black tea bags

Basically, bring everything to a boil except the tea bags, and then remove the pot from the heat and let it sit for about twenty minutes. Bring it to a boil again and add the tea bags for a few minutes. Strain the liquid – the recipe also calls for milk (1 and 1/2 cups) and sugar (3/4 cups, which seems like a lot, I prefer sweetening each cup on it’s own, which admittedly probably uses more sugar…) but I left these out. Then, I took about a cup of the chai, brought it to a boil, and added oats. Usually, I like oatmeal to be the consistency of cookie dough, so I added maybe 3/4 of a cup of oats. I topped it with a very generous pour of maple syrup, and it was really nice. A bit of kick, which I think is just perfect for breakfast! I opted to save the remaining chai for tomorrow’s oatmeal, but I can assure you that it also makes a really nice drink.

Eep! I was just looking through Tastespotting (really, really, I should just do my work) and it was featured there. Which is probably where my inspiration came from. Which, again, is why I go there. And for the pretty pictures. But this is getting circular.

Leave a Reply

