baking for two.

Last night it poured snow, plus I somehow completely changed my entire thesisplan (still definitely not in the “thesis” stages…), so I clearly needed something to take my mind off of all the insanity. Having just bought more brown sugar, I was basically determined to make Laural’s pudding cake. The thing about baking is that I really shouldn’t make a cake in a winter storm because no one is going to visit and I will inevitably eat it all. Plus, I wasn’t sure the gooey-ness would make a good next-day treat. So, I made the cake in a ramekin, and thirded the recipe. I’m posting it here, because really math isn’t my forte and even though it is Laural’s recipe exactly, I don’t want to deal in fractions ever again if such a thing is avoidable. Thirding the recipe made for a perfect treat for two girls who are really really into chocolate, and maybe for three people who are kind of into chocolate. If you’re worried about germs, this is not for you. We ate it out of the ramekin, and I suggest you do the same to get the many delicious textures.

  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cocoa
  • 1/2 teaspoon plus 1/4 teaspoon baking powder (this is maybe where my fractions got iffy)
  • pinch of salt (or, precisely, one third of a 1/4 teaspoon)
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 2 teaspoons melted butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1/2 cup and 4 teaspoons of hot water, or 1/3 cup plus 1/4 cup hot water (fractions! options!)

Combine the first five ingredients into a bowl, then add in the milk and the melted butter. Put this batter into a ramekin. Cover with a mixture of the brown sugar and remaining cocoa. Pour the hot water on top. Bake at 400 for 40 minutes. Let it cool for about 20 minutes.

This is so easy and quick, minus the baking part. In the time it took me to heat up last week’s stew, I had finished making this and done the dishes.

Leave a Reply

