shot-sized treats.

It’s not really a secret that I am into cutecutemini treats. First, they are so cute. Second, not too messy. And! Having six mini cupcakes doesn’t really feel like eating a regular one, but I’m pretty sure it is… Awhile ago, browsing on Spadina, I found plastic shot glasses, ish (maybe 1.5 ounces? I’m not sure). Inspired by a recent lemon mousse, but looking for a chocolate fix, I found a pretty awesome (easy!) chocolate mousse recipe. It works, of course, in a larger pan – but I love a single serving dessert! Not surprisingly, the most time-consuming part of this recipe was filling the individual containers precisely (reminiscent of the time I spent two and a half hours filling mini cupcake trays with cakemix cake batter…) and the waiting for the mousse to settle.

For Laural’s chocluck cockluck (chocolate and cocktail potluck…) ages ago, I brought these treats.  I had intended to drizzle some Bailey’s on the top, combining the two, but I ran out of space in the glasses and forgot the Bailey’s. Whoops. (Warning: these might be a better party contribution if the party is very close by. Dozens of mini shot glasses don’t travel well.)

Bittersweet Chocolate Mousse

  • 6 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp gelatin powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/4 cup whipping cream

White Chocolate Mousse

  • 12 oz white chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp gelatin powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup whipping cream
Milk Chocolate Mousse
  • 10 oz milk chocolate, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp gelatin powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup whipping cream
Start with the bittersweet mousse. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler, stirring as much as you can. Stir the gelatin into the milk and let it sit. Microwave the milk and then stir it into the chocolate, put it aside to cool. Whip the cream, and then fold it into the chocolate mixture. Pour the mousse into the cups or pan and put it in the fridge for at least an hour (waitwaitwait).
Follow the same method for the white chocolate, and then the milk chocolate. (waitwaitwait).
Let the cups/pan sit as long as possible. This is the really hard part. Also – like I said – I do love eating many individual desserts, but these are very very rich. I still had at least four, but that’s a pretty weak showing from me…
Leave a Reply

