tofu sandwiches

I don’t think I’ve ever been so skeptical about a food as I was the first time I came across this sandwich spread. A few years ago, I guess, five now, I worked at a bakery in Kingston. I was, at first, the “sandwich girl,” meaning I’d start making sandwiches at 7 am for the lunchtime rush. And yes, five hours later there was a rush, regardless of my preparation. Anyway, I always made this one last, because I was pretty sure no one would bother with the “tofu teaser,” but once I tried it I’m pretty sure I bumped it up the priority list, in spite of the lame name. Surprisingly delish!  I had it on sandwiches but also with raw veggies as a dip.

  •  1/2 pound firm, white tofu, crumbled
  • 1/2 teaspoon de-bittered brewer’s yeast
  • 4 cloves minced garlic (I upped the garlic because I love it – the original recipe calls for 1 teaspoon)
  • pinch cayenne
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 scallion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon finely diced carrot
  • 1 tablespoon finely diced celery
  • 1 tablespoon roughly chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Blend the tofu, yeast, garlic and cayenne in a food processor and combine thoroughly.  Add olive oil and soy sauce and blend again.  Transfer the mixture into a bowl, and stir in scallion, carrot, celery, and cilantro by hand.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Also, I know it’s kind of cheesy, but I do recommend the Chez Piggy and Pan Chancho cookbooks.  I can attest to the fact that these are indeed the recipes used in the restaurant and bakery – they even keep them in the kitchen, with much much larger proportions penciled in the margins.  I always feel let down when a restaurant cookbook doesn’t live up to the real thing, but luckily that isn’t the case with these ones.

Leave a Reply

