winter stew

It is cold, cold, cold right now in Toronto. So cold, in fact, that all I want to do is make stew. Even though this is a vegetarian stew, I still opted for the
slow cooker. Unnecessary, maybe, but it worked and I’m still learning about the thing (so far, it seems to be foolproof…). And, though I wouldn’t typically describe sweet potatoes as “melt in your mouth,” these sweet potatoes actually did just that. This stew is easy and delicious, with a bit of kick, and now my freezer is stocked with leftovers in case this cold snap doesn’t actually snap. Usually I am bad at saving leftovers, as I am perfectly content to eat the same thing all week, but I think my second batch of baked beans cured me of this. The slow cooker is so big that I could literally be eating stew for three meals a day for at least a week. It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but I’d like a bit of variety, I think.

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow pepper
  • 3 cloves of minced garlic
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 5 cups peeled diced sweet potato
  • 1 28-oz can of tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 28-0z can of chick peas
  • juice of one lemon
  • 1 tablespoon grated ginger
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

I just put everything (even the fresh coriander) into the slow cooker, and cooked it for probably around eight hours. If you’re going to make it on the stove, I guess fry the onions, then add the celery, pepper and garlic. Then add everything else and bring to a boil. Pretty easy… It was a bit soupy, I guess, and Meg’s made it with potato starch to thicken it, but I like having something to soak up with rice or bread.

One response to “winter stew

  1. looks delish! you have me craving stew…

Leave a Reply

