dessert cheese?

Awhile ago, I was watching the food network, and Barefoot Contessa made this amazing looking yogurt. The woman who does everybody likes sandwiches also made it, suggesting that it was probably awesome, because seriously her blog is wonderful. Basically, all you do is put yogurt in a cheese cloth and drain out the water, then add some more fresh juices, along with nuts and dried fruit, to essentially make your own yogurt. My problem, though, is that I seriously lack patience when it comes to food. Plus, I found the draining process to be pretty mesmerizing.

So, although this recipe might have the highest impressive:effort ratio ever, I decided to cut out most of the steps.  I’m not such a fan of fruity yogurts, so I didn’t really want to re-hydrate the drained yogurt.  Instead, I opted for a vanilla yogurt.  Once it was drained, it was pretty much the consistency of a mousse and it was perfectperfect as something to dip into apples.  I definitely love this as a nice treat.

My main question is whether I am being silly by using low fat yogurt.  Is the only difference between regular and low fat the amount of water added, in which case by draining it, am I just yielding less?  Or is there some physical difference in the yogurts?  Using higher fat yogurt would make this less of a virtuous treat, which I am obviously fine with.

2 responses to “dessert cheese?

  1. The high fat yoghurt is different, WAY better for making into yogocheese. You can avoid the pain of waiting, by putting it to drip just before going to bed and then into the fridge when you get up.

  2. Pingback: ricotta « descent into dessert

Leave a Reply

