vegan corn bread

Maybe you’ve noticed my frequent mention of animal products, but the truth is I am really quite fond of vegan food too. I really prefer vegan food, on it’s own, rather than vegan-friendly alternatives, just because. Awhile ago I went to a pretty awesome American Thanksgiving, and I was supposed to bring corn bread. This is a generally easy task, made easier by my earlier go-to corn bread recipe featuring cheddar cheese, but one of my friends is vegan so I went on the hunt for a vegan corn bread. Most recipes that I found called for bacon and cheese (two things I love), but this recipe from Cooks Illustrated apparently won the blue ribbon of some mid-western state fair without any animal products. I was admittedly skeptical of the whole thing, but this bread is totally delicious, without bacon, cheese, milk or butter (shocking!). It’s not too sweet, and I’m not sure what the flax seed does, but it’s pretty awesome.

• 2 tablespoons ground flax seed
• 6 tablespoons water
• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1 cup cornmeal
• ¼ cup sugar
• 4 teaspoons baking powder
• ¾ teaspoon salt
• 1 cup soy milk
• ¼ cup canola oil

Preheat the oven to 425. Spray baking dish. Bring the water to a boil, add the flax seed and reduce the heat to medium-low and simmer the ground flax seed in the water for 3 minutes or until thickened, stirring occasionally. Set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, and salt until well-combined. Add the flax mixture, soy milk, and canola oil to the flour mixture. Beat until smooth, but don’t overbeat. Bake 20-25 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes and remove from the pan. No joke, including the baking this recipe takes less than 40 minutes.

I’ve made this bread with cow’s milk before, because I’m actually not a huge fan of the soy milk in coffee or tea which is generally what I have milk for, and it doesn’t work as well. Seriously. The soy milk is key.

One response to “vegan corn bread

  1. Pingback: curry and cornbread « descent into dessert

Leave a Reply

