sweet sweet squares.

I have to be honest. I did not make these squares: Meggie did while I was in the shower. But! Continuing in this line of honesty I will also say that I both showered and dressed in about twenty minutes, so these are either very easy, or Meg is very awesome, or both. I absolutely love all the ingredients, so it’s not a surprise that these were amazing.

Chocolate and Coconut Slices

• ½ cup butter, diced
• 2 ½ cup crushed graham crackers
• 1 ¼ cup white sugar
• 1 cup dry unsweetened shredded coconut
• 1 ½ semisweet chocolate chips
• 1 cup sweetened condensed milk
• 1 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350. Melt the butter in a saucepan over a low heat, and stir in the crushed graham crackers, sugar and salt. The crust was a little too crumbly, so maybe more butter than this? It’s really not a huge issue, though. Press the mixture evenly over the base of an ungreased 9 x 13 inch dish. Sprinkle the coconut, then the chocolate chips over the base. Pour the sweetened condensed milk evenly over the chocolate. Sprinkle the walnuts on top. Bake for 30 minutes. Cool for as long as possible (this, too, could also account for the crumble, since patience is not my thing when it comes to treats).

And! If you are lucky enough to have some leftover sweetened condensed milk and can’t wait for dessert, it is amazingamazing in coffee, with ice or without.

2 responses to “sweet sweet squares.

  1. You are a lucky gal. I wish I had a roommate that made treats magically appear while I was in the shower. The Mosby Show clearly does not measure up in this regard.

  2. descentintodessert

    It’s true! I’m very lucky. But Mosby has a lot to offer, including so many old cookbooks and a serious yearning for jello moulds. These things are lacking in my life.

Leave a Reply

