baked beans

My father got me a slow cooker for Christmas. This is a very lovely and surprising gift. Lovely because I love kitchen appliances and thoughtful because I have many so kudos to him for finding one missing from the kitchen. But! Also a strange, ish, gift, because I have never used a slow cooker, my family has never used a slow cooker, and I have never mentioned a slow cooker. Surprises are nice, though, and I am into the slow cooking. I am not, though, into the term “crock pot.” Ew.

So far, all I’ve slow cooked is beans. This is nice because I love beans in all ways, but have always been put off by the idea of having the stove on forever, and having to spend all day dealing with beans. This recipe is wonderful, easy, so rich, and I am excited to try variations on it.

beans

• 1 pound dried small white beans, rinsed and soaked about 8 hours
• water to cover
• 1/3 cup molasses
• ¼ cup brown sugar, packed
• 1 cup chopped onion
• ½ pound bacon, diced
• 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard

Anyway, I soaked the beans from I guess about 11-8. I could have used canned beans but this way there are no preservatives and, really, soaking beans is easy. Put all the ingredients in the slow cooker. Cook on low for 10-12 hours, stirring if you want. I woke up and the apartment smelled amazing. The molasses and sugar are so good and rich, but I think they’d do well with a bit of a hot sauce or something else.

I was worried that these wouldn’t work, because I literally did nothing and the molasses and sugar didn’t look like enough to turn raw beans into much of anything, but by the time they were done, everything was falling into itself. A bonus is that I really hate bacon that isn’t crispy, and I worried that this bacon would be chewy but it came through as delicious!

2 responses to “baked beans

  1. beth! beth! beth! the slow cooker is a fantastic kitchen tool!!!!

    i’ve always had a one track mind when it came to the slow cooker – i really thought that the slow cooker was the master of all that was soupy and stewy (sp?). anywhoo — while watching cityline’s food day with chef Michael Bonacini — i became a bit misty eyed when i realized that the slow cooker doesn’t just create aromatic amazing soups and stews – you can make some seriously non-liquidy meals of substance in them. Bonacini = genius!

    seriously – the slow cooker is a kitchen genie.

  2. descentintodessert

    stacey! i googled michael bonacini – very exciting! i was surprised to see that you were into the slow cooker, knowing how you feel about sauces, but now it makes a more sense.

Leave a Reply

