chili

Even though the Globe and Mail says comfort food is out, I am clinging to it. Mac and cheese and pot roasts aren’t really my thing, but quick and easy foods with a bit of spice and less rather than more meats are generally a good bet. Though I would never order it, I love making chili. It makes the apartment smell delicious and feeds me for days.

Last year for my birthday, my friend Emma sent me a lovely cookbook she made. I love cookbooks, and we trade recipes a lot, and it was a great gift. In the book was this awesome chili recipe. It’s vegan and easy and full of flavour. I’ve left out some of the ingredients because I don’t usually have them (carrots, especially, I hate buying in bulk, but you could add them in if you wanted).

• 1 tablespoon olive oil
• 2 onions, chopped
• 2 garlic cloves, minced
• 2 tablespoons chili powder
• 1 teaspoon ground cumin
• 1 teaspoon oregano
• ¼ teaspoon salt
• 2 cans stewed tomatoes
• 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
• 2 bell peppers (I usually opt for yellow to add colour)

Fry the onions and garlic in oil until golden in a pot. Add the rest of the ingredients and let boil over medium heat. After it’s boiled turn to low heat and let simmer. Adjust spices to taste. Emma also sent me an accompanying avocado salsa recipe, but I usually just add cheddar and avocado on top.

We make this chili probably twice a month at the apartment, it’s definitely become a staple. So much so, that I accidentally forgot that it was Emma’s recipe rather than mine when I was compiling a bunch of recipe cards as a gift for her. It’s a bit of a faut-pas, but I threw it in along with some others, and after I realized it I justified it by thinking that maybe she had used some recipes that she hadn’t tried and this would remind her to try it… Whoops! I’m hoping the cute patterned paper distracts from my blunder. These recipe books were easy to make, lots of fun and they refreshed my memory of recipes I love. Plus, they made me feel crafty, even though I’m pretty sure I’m not.

One response to “chili

  1. I love this recipe book you made me, it rocks, and I’m very excited to try all the recipes, even the black bean chili, although I do make it regularly.
    Once again Beth, it’s an impediment to my life that we don’t live in the same city.

Leave a Reply

