almond biscotti

Since I finished comps, all I do is sit around and drink warm drinks and think about treats. I also play a lot of tetris and read celebrity gossip. Basically, I deal in the internet and food. So, a food blog seems like a good idea. We’ll see if it lasts.

Here is a lovely biscotti recipe that fits into my new lifestyle of not doing very much. It’s come to the apartment via my roommate’s sister, who makes very nice treats and watches a lot of the food network, which I support.

biscotti

• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• ½ teaspoons baking powder
• ¼ teaspoons salt
• ¾ cups sugar (I usually use half white/half brown)
• ½ cups unsalted butter
• 2 teaspoons vanilla (if you are one of those people who doubles vanilla, then good call, but I have already done this, because it tastes so so good.)
• 2 eggs
• 1 cup toasted, chopped almonds (I always burn nuts. You know, don’t do this.)

Preheat the oven to 375. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, beat the sugar, butter, and vanilla. Add the eggs, one at a time. Add the flour mixture, stir in the almonds. Form the dough into a 16-inch long, 3-inch wide log. Transfer the log onto a baking sheet, lined with parchment paper. Bake 30 minutes until golden. Cool on a baking sheet for 30 minutes. Put the log on a cutting board and cut into slices. Places the slices cut side down onto the baking sheet and bake until pale golden, about 15 minutes.

afternoon snack

I used to think biscotti was stale cookie, but now I’m way more into it. Also, these are delish and never stick around long enough to actually get stale.

One response to “almond biscotti

  1. how do you cut the biscotti without making it ‘a-crumble’? every time i make biscotti it’s a mess. i’m this close (fingers pinched) to giving up!

Leave a Reply

