summer meals

If I could eat like this everyday, I would:

It’s too hot to cook, I just want to eat many small portions of many delicious things.  Particularly delicious is the muhammara that I finally made.  It’s been all over tastespotting lately, but it’s also my favourite appetizer at Utopia and my standard “I’m coming home for the weekend” request.  Since I had some pomegranate molasses from the cod, I asked my mother for her recipe.  Delish!

  • 5 roasted bell peppers (I put them in the oven under the broiler until they were blackened)
  • 1/3 to 2/3 cup bread crumbs
  • 1/3 cup walnuts, ground finely
  • 4 cloves garlic, mashed up with some salt
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons pomegranate molasses
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • olive oil

Peel the blackened skin off the peppers.  Combine everything in a food processor, adding the bread crumbs and olive oil until it’s a consistency you like.  This is, no question, my number one dip.  It’s shockingly good.

4 responses to “summer meals

  1. Sounds like a tasty dip–and even better, quick and easy!

  2. what is this muhammara and why have i not heard of it before? it sounds right up my alley and i’m appalled that i haven’t tried it yet! thanks for the recipe–i’ll be taking care of my faux pas as soon as possible! :)

  3. muhammara is awesome – and you can use jarred roasted red peppers too…

  4. Pingback: YeastSpotting June 20 2008 | Wild Yeast

Leave a Reply

