red pepper eggplant hummus

I am having a very hard day.  All week I ate bagels, yesterday I had a cupcake disaster, and then I celebrated a birthday too hard and now I am tired and kind of grumpy.  In case you were maybe worried about my “wah wah, my life is soooo hard” bit, it’s actually not.  My life is in fact awesome.  And about to be more awesome because Ashley made this totally delicious hummus-plus-other-treats that I hope will make me feel better.  Basically, we (ooops, she – I was really just a cheerleader: “Yeah! More garlic!”) threw everything in the food processor and kept adding things until it was too good.  (note: the “keep adding things” technique does not work for icing.  I need a good, hard, cupcake icing.  I am defeated!)

  • 1 can chick peas
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • 4 roasted red peppers
  • 4 grilled eggplant slices
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 2 teaspoons sambal olek hot sauce

Really, just blend it.  And try it throughout, because all of these measurements are estimates.  Thank you Ashley.  My life is looking up, one dip/spread at a time!  Also, I am giving you your own tag, and going back and to give you due credit.

2 responses to “red pepper eggplant hummus

  1. Yummm, who doesn’t like hummus. So angus tells me that you saw him on the street a little ago and that we should make plans. when are you free. we should have a cook off. And then you could blog it.

    Missing you.

  2. Man….it’s 10:30, way to late at night to be hitting the kitchen.

    But after seeing that picture all i can think of is that I just bought pita bread and I have everything in your recipe except that particular hot-sauce.

    I guess I can sleep at work tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

